Adventures of the Flash Gang, Episode Two: Treasonous Tycoon

Fitzroy Books Titles
$12.95 - $26.95
Current Stock:

Where is the Flash Gang? Pittsburgh’s most notorious thieves haven’t struck for a year, not since a devastating fire resulted in the supposed death of two streeters. Pearl and Lewis—along with their pals, Duck and Mac—are alive and well, just in hiding. But now, their hideout is crumbling under the relentless rain. It’s been a winter of bitter winds and slim pickings, and their friendship is starting to fray. To make matters worse, streeters are disappearing. Are they skipping town or is something more nefarious afoot? When one of their own vanishes, the gang goes all out to unravel the mystery, which once again points to enemy #1: the steel tycoon who had Lewis’s father killed. But Pittsburgh is flooding and the tycoon’s plans are in motion. If they want to save their friends, they’re running out of time.

Praise for Adventures of the Flash Gang

"Set amid Dickensian realities of poverty and injustice in Depression-era Pittsburgh, it was an impressive debut, offering a smart mix of action and suspense with relatable young characters going up against ruthless moguls, murderers, kidnappers, mobsters, and Nazi sympathizers. In this satisfying sequel, the plot expands and deepens as the stakes are raised even higher for Lewis, who’s now hunkered down in his derelict factory hideout with his kid crew: Duck, Mac, and his best friend, Pearl Alice Clavell, who’s still emulating Lola Lavender, the intrepid hero of her favorite radio show."

- Kirkus Reviews - STARRED (for The Adventures of the Flash Gang, Episode Two)

“A tale with plenty of humor and suspense, memorable characters, and a plot that’s vividly informed by a challenging time in U.S. history.”

- Kirkus Reviews - STARRED (for The Adventures of the Flash Gang, Episode One)

“Packed with clever twists and ever-rising stakes, The Adventures of the Flash Gang is a bright flare of fun, a throwback gangster caper with irresistible kid sleuths and loads of page-turning action.”

—Ben Guterson, author of the award-winning Winterhouse series and The Einsteins of Vista Point

“Delightfully Dickensian in spirit. Period events are woven seamlessly into this rollicking tale of friendship and fortitude. I challenge any reader not to fall in love with the histrionics and devil-may-care verve of Pearl Alice Clavell and her grease-smeared partner in crime, Lewis Carter.”

—J.R. Potter, author of Thomas Creeper and the Gloomsbury Secret

“Clever, catchy dialogue and non-stop action catapult the reader from page to page till we land breathless, intrigued, and anxiously awaiting the Flash Gang’s next adventures.”

—Kimberly Behre Kenna, author of Artemis Sparke and the Sound Seekers Brigade